Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Board of Directors

The Board currently consists of eleven members, 10 of whom are independent directors under the applicable rules of the New York Stock Exchange, the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, as amended, and the rules and regulations promulgated by the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Board has determined that Messrs. Alspaugh, Johansson, Kepler, Kortüm, Lorch, Ringler and Sakamoto, Ms. Evans and Dr. Liu and Dr. Ziebart qualify as independent directors under the above standards.




Jan Carlson
Born 1960. Director since 2007. Chairman of the Board since May 4, 2014. Elected until 2017. President & CEO of Autoliv Inc.
Director of Borg Warner Inc. and Trelleborg AB.
Shares: 84,159
Restricted Stock Units: 13,586
Options: 26,562
Performance Shares: 4,732


Robert W. Alspaugh
Born 1947. Director since 2006. Elected until 2017.
Former CEO of KPMG International. Former Deputy Chairman and COO of KPMG's U.S. practice. Director of DSGI Technologies Inc., Ball Inc., Verifone Systems.
Shares: 3,800



Aicha Evans
Born 1969. Director since Feb. 2015. Elected until 2017.
Senior Vice President and General Manager of the Communications and Devices Group at Intel. Former General Manager of the Intel Mobile Wireless Platform Research and Development Group. Formerly served in various positions at Rockwell Semiconductors, Conexant and Skyworks. B.Sc.
Shares: 584


Leif Johansson
Born 1951. Director since Feb. 2016. Elected until 2017.
Chairman of the Board Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson and Astra Zeneca PLC. Former President of Volvo and Chief Executive Officer of the Volvo Group and Electrolux. Member of the board Ecolean AB.
Shares: 12,000


David E. Kepler
Born 1952. Director since Feb. 2015. Elected until 2017.
Former Executive Vice President, Chief Sustainability Officer and Chief Information Officer of The Dow Chemical Company. Appointed to the U.S. National Infrastructure Advisory Council. Director of the Teradata Corporation and the TD Bank Group. Trustee of the University of California, Berkeley Foundation. B.Sc.
Shares: 584

Franz-Josef Kortüm
Born 1950. Director since 2014. Elected until 2017.
Former Chief Executive Officer of Webasto SE and Audi AG. Vice Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Webasto. Chairman of the Advisory Board of Brose Fahrzeugteile GmbH & Co. KG. Member of the Supervisory Board of Wacker Chemie. Former Member of the Supervisory Board of Schaeffler AG. Former Member of the Managing Board of the VDA (German Association of the Automotive Industry).
MBA-equivalent degree in Business Administration from the Universität Regensburg in Germany.
Shares: 1,030

Xiaozhi Liu

Born 1956. Director since 2011. Elected until 2017.
CEO of ASL Automobile Science & Technology (Shanghai) Co. Ltd. Director of Fuyao Glass Industry Group Co Ltd. Former Chairman of the Board of NeoTek China. Former Chairman & CEO of General Motors Taiwan. Former CTO and Chief Engineer of GM China, Former Director of CAEG.
Ph.D. and M.Sc.
Shares: 2,569


George A. Lorch
Born 1941. Director since 2003. Lead Independent Director since May 4, 2014. Elected until 2017.
Former Chairman, President and CEO of Armstrong World Industries. Former director of Pfizer, Inc. Director of WPX Energy, Inc. and Masonite International Corporation.
Shares: 3,066


James M. Ringler
Born 1945. Director since 2002. Elected until 2017.
Chairman of the Board for Teradata Corporation. Former Vice Chairman of Illinois Tool Works, Inc. Former Chairman, President and CEO of Premark International, Inc. Director of Dow Chemical Company, FMC Technologies, Inc., JBT Corporation, and Ingredion Incorporated.
B.Sc. and MBA
Shares: 3,727​


Kazuhiko Sakamoto
Born 1945. Director since 2007. Elected until 2017.
Former President of Marubeni Construction Material Lease Co. Ltd, and affiliate of Marubeni Corporation, for which he was formerly a senior corporate advisor. Currently an advisor at Pasona, Inc. Graduated from the Keio University in 1968 and attended the Harvard University Research Institute for International Affairs.
Shares: 2,527


Wolfgang Ziebart
Born 1950. Director since 2015.
Elected until 2017. Former Director Group Engineering, Jaguar Land Rover. Former President & CEO of Infineon Technologies AG. Former member of the executive boards of BMW AG and of Continental AG. Head of the Supervisory Board of Nordex, Chairman of Nordex SE and member of the Supervisory Board of ASML, Inc.
Shares: 819





Proxy Statement